Auchenames Curling Club

Click here to edit subtitle

Auchenames Curling Club

Auchenames Curling Club was founded in West Kilbride in the middle of the 19th century.
The Club took its name from the Auchenames Estates, which owned several of the farms around the village.

The original outdoor pond was situated at Crosbie Mains Farm, and had a system of sluices to control the water level, to ensure that there would be ice suitable for the curling. There was also a bothy nearby.

The earliest surviving Club records go back to 1885, but the Club was in existence for some time before that, as we have the Wallace Cup, presented by C.M.J. Crawford in 1854. The Club prospered for many years, but seems to have lost impetus during the second world war, and activity ceased during 1945 / 46. However, in 1951, the club was reconstituted, and has never looked back. In those days, almost all the games were played at the old Crossmyloof Icerink in Glasgow. The minute book records the selection of the teams, and the details of the games, but is more reticent about the social side. The Club soon joined the Royal Caledonian Curling Club, ( RCCC ) in the Renfrewshire Province, where, apart from a foray into the Ayrshire Province from 1982 until 2001, it remains to this day.

The Club has had some notable curlers in its time, notably Bill Kerr and his son James Kerr, both of whom skipped Auchenames rinks to victory in the Renfrewshire Province‚Äôs Premier Trophy, the Ramshead.

The present Club has a busy schedule, offering a variety of curling with our main league programme based at Harvies Icerink in Stevenston, with teams in the RCCC National Competitions, Province competitions, Ayr day league, and various friendly games with other local clubs. 

Membership of the Club is drawn largely, but not exclusively, from the villages of West Kilbride, Seamill and Portencross.

New Members are always welcome and tuition is available for beginners.


Season 2019 - 2020

President : Dougie Mackinnon

Vice President:: 

Secretary : Alan Mackie

Treasurer : Anna McNay


Jim Colquhoun, Bryan Gossman, Graeme Jamieson, Joyce Mackie,

Mike Nellany, H Gilmour Smith.

Hon. Members

Jim Colquhoun

John Parker

Useful Links

Ayr Day League

Largs Thistle Curling Club

Royal Caledonian Curling Club

West Kilbride Golf